Arkwright Scholarships

An Arkwright Engineering Scholarship is the most esteemed scholarship of its type in the UK, designed to inspire students to pursue their dreams and change the world as a future leader in engineering.

The Scholarships are awarded to hard-working 16 year old students through a rigorous selection process, supporting them through their A levels, Scottish Highers or equivalent qualifications.

Every Scholarship is sponsored by a commercial company, trade association, university, professional institution, armed service, government organisation, worshipful company, charitable trust or personal donor. This means that support is offered in various different ways, for example, valuable hands-on work experience, support for your curriculum project and a personal mentor who can help you with aspects of your studies and career planning.

Who Can Apply?
Download the Student Brochure

How to apply?

Your school must be partnered with Arkwright Engineering Scholarships and you must be within a certain age bracket before you can apply for a Scholarship. If your school is not partnered, ask your teacher to complete the school partnership form. Partnership is quick, simple and FREE.

Once your online application has been submitted, you will sit the Arkwright aptitude exam in your school. If you are successful in the exam you will be invited to the interview stage. If you are then successful in the 20 minute interview, you’ll be matched to an available Scholarship.

How to Apply

Find out more about Arkwright Scholarships >



Benefits for Scholars

  • Nationally-recognised Scholarship
  • £600 personal financial award
  • £400 school financial award
  • Personal development
  • Support from your Sponsor
  • Dedicated Engineering Mentor
  • Industry-based Connect Days
  • University-based VIP Receptions
  • Early notification of national competitions
  • Network with like-minded students

View accreditations

NCTL National Teaching School lock up (colour)cmyk
NCTL my version
SSAT Member Badge Colour
EO2017 Awards Logo - Accreditation